• What are Key Stages?

The English National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’

    1. KS2- Year 3-Year 6 (aged 7-11 years old)
    2. KS3- Year 6-Year 9 (aged 11-14 years old)
    3. iGCSE- Year 10- Year 11 (aged 14-16 years old)
  • What is the iGCSE and how does it differ to the GCSE?

General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) exams are typically taken by Year 10 and Year 11 students. iGCSEs are ideal for students studying qualifications by distance learning or at home as they are 100% externally assessed, and do not have any coursework. For students studying at home the assessments can all be done by written exams in test centres all over the world. They are considered to be more challenging and rigorous than GCSEs, though they are the same level of qualification, and are recognised all over the world.

  • What is single, double or separate science?

Students who study separate sciences will get three separate GCSEs in Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. Those doing the double award will get two grades, and study 2/3rds of each separate science. Those doing the single award will get one grade overall, and sit 3 core papers weighted equally in the separate sciences.

  1. Why are there two English courses?

Students can study both English Literature, which has a strong focus on texts, prose, poetry, fiction, and non fiction, and English Language, which focuses on different kinds of writing. These are separate GCSE subjects.

  1. What is the National Curriculum?

The English National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools in England so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject. It is divided into Key Stages.

  1. 6. What is Pearson- Edexcel?

Pearson-Edexcel is an examination board in the United Kingdom which sets exams and awards secondary education level qualifications like iGCSEs and A Levels. Pearson is the UK’s largest awarding body, regulated by Ofqual in England, and are one of the few boards to run the Edexcel iGCSE. Edexcel is the brand name for academic and general qualifications from Pearson.

  1. How do iGCSE exams work?

Students can find their nearest exam centre here, then register to take their exam there in the summer. Students study for iGCSEs normally over two years, and take the exam at the end of the two years.

  1. Is there coursework for the iGCSE courses?

There is no coursework for iGCSEs which makes it ideal for those who study at home or internationally.