Curriculum and subjects

Our curriculum

A global standard
for progressive education

At My Online Schooling, we teach the English National Curriculum. It’s a well-established curriculum that’s recognised for offering a broad, balanced and progressive education. Having been developed in the late 1980s, it has been reviewed regularly ever since, ensuring every programme and every subject is relevant and up to date. It’s not only taught in the vast majority of schools in England, but also used by thousands of international and British schools around the world. The curriculum is divided into Key Stages:

  • Key Stage 1 (Primary): Year Groups 1-2 (age 5-7)
  • Key Stage 2 (Primary): Year Groups 3-6 (age 7-11)
  • Key Stage 3 (Secondary): Year Groups 7-9 (age 11-14)
  • Key Stage 4 (Secondary): Year Groups 10 & 11 (age 14-16)
  • Key Stage 5 (Secondary): Year Groups 12 & 13 (age 16-18)

As such, this provides the baseline standards of what pupils should be learning in each subject for each stage and age, setting programmes of study which our teachers then convert into lessons delivered in the classroom.

Our range of subjects

My Online Schooling Courses

We offer a range of subjects at Key Stage Two (KS2), Key Stage Three (KS3), International General Certificate of Secondary Education (International GCSE), and A-Level qualification.

Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 3

For pupils at KS2 and KS3 level, we offer an engaging course that covers seven key curricular areas and increasingly promotes independent learning. We keep class sizes small and every lesson is taught live by an experienced primary teacher, so your child is engaged and supported at every step of their learning.

International GCSE

Then, in Year 10 our pupils typically begin two years of study toward achieving their International GCSEs, which are the global equivalent of UK GCSEs and are awarded by Pearson-Edexcel. They have recently introduced the 9–1 grading scale to ensure that International GCSEs are comparable to the GCSEs.

It’s an ideal qualification for online education, as it can be assessed 100% externally and it doesn’t involve any coursework. While it offers the same level of qualification, it is widely considered to be more challenging and rigorous than a GCSE. It’s also a linear qualification, meaning pupils take all of the exams at the end of the course, in May/June.

AS and A Levels

Then, in Year 12, pupils can then progress onto AS and A Levels. These qualifications involve studying the theory of a subject, combined with some investigative work. AS Levels generally take a year to complete, acting as the foundation for the A Levels, which pupils then take in Year 13.

Measuring Performance

Progress in our classes is measured with every lesson and with assessments every term, and for every subject we use the descriptors: “working towards expected level of attainment”, “working at expected level of attainment” or “working above expected level of attainment” to state your child’s level of performance.

Of course, it’s important to remember that every child is different – learning in different ways and at different rates. With small class sizes and a flexible approach, we offer an individualised style of learning that reflects and meets their needs. At every step of your child’s progress, we work hard to ensure that they enjoy a rich, coherent and engaging learning experience.